Call 410-288-2900 | email: | visit: | Free Consultations

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Driving While Suspended - Driving on Suspended License in Maryland - License Suspension Md

Driving While Suspended - Driving on Suspended License in Maryland - License Suspension Md
Written by Traffic Defense Attorney and Driving on Suspended Lawyer - G. Randolph Rice, Jr., 410-288-2900 on June 13, 2012

Driving on a Suspended License - Everything you ever want to know about driving on or while your license is suspended in Maryland

Maryland Driving on Suspended License Penalty - Contact Maryland Driving While Suspended Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 to discuss your traffic citations, insurance consequences, MVA points, and how to defend your driving on suspended charges.  We offer free no-obligation consultations to drivers charged with a license suspension in Maryland.
Contact Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 (24/7).
Most people that have never had a traffic ticket are surprised to learn that driving on a suspended license in Maryland is a "must appear" ticket and carries the potential for jail time.  If it is your first offense for driving on suspended license, then you are probably not going to go to jail, so stop planning your escape to Mexico.  If your license or privilege to drive in Maryland has been suspended, canceled, or revoked, there are answers and a chance to fix the problem before you go to Court.  Contact my office at 410-288-2900 for immediate help and ask for Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr.
Driving while suspended (16-303) citations are charged in the District Court of Maryland and that is where you will have to appear to answer the charges of driving while suspended. Driving on suspended licence charges in Maryland as classified as misdemeanors. As an attorney that appears in the District and Circuit Court on a daily basis, I would bet I handle at least 2-4 driving while suspended cases a week in the District Courts for Maryland.   Most of the case that we see result in drivers that are pulled over while they are suspended for failing to appear for a trial date on a much less serious traffic offense.  In 2011, the Maryland legislature change the requirement for all "payable" traffic citations in Maryland.  Before January 2011, if you received a traffic ticket and the maximum penalty was a fine, then you would receive a Court date in the mail about 4-6 weeks after the traffic stop.  Now, if you are charged with a "payable" ticket, then you have to request either a waiver or trial date within 30 days or you have to pay the ticket within that 30 days after the stop.  What most people do is they place the ticket in their glove compartment and forget about the ticket.  After that 30 day period the MVA notifies the Court and the Court then tells the MVA that you have failed to take action on the ticket.  The Court then orders the MVA to suspend your license until you pay the ticket.  This inaction by drivers leads to most of the cases of driving on a suspended license.  If you fail to pay that fine and you are pulled over then the police will charge with you Transportation Article 16-303(h).  If you are charged with 16-303(h) then you are facing a maximum penalty of 60 days and $500.00 fine or both.  

Click Driving While Suspended - Driving on Suspended License in Maryland - License Suspension Md to learn more.